Ode to the fallen: Satoshi Kon

September 7, 2010 at 12:51 am | Posted in anime, satoshi kon | 2 Comments


He was, and will be, the coolest looking asian man since Mr. Myogi from the Karate Kid.

On August 24th, 2010 pancreatic cancer claimed a legend. Satoshi Kon, one of the most brilliant (read: better than Miyazaki) anime directors and artists that has ever been born. He was my idol, when I was younger I worshiped his work. He was 46… I haven’t watched anime since his death, since it will never be the same. I did however find a tweet that I liked saying:

“It’s not that anime will never be the same, but now it will always be the same.”

Truer words were never spoken. Satoshi Kon personified innovation. His works include Millennium Actress, Perfect Blue, Tokyo Godfathers, Paprika, and the series Paranoia Agent.

If you have seen all of the above, you will know a Satoshi Kon work, not just by crazy wacked plot lines that stick their dick in your brain and hump it without relenting while simultaneously punching the forth wall in the face, but by the art. The psuedo-realistic, AMAZING, artwork. The artwork that fit perfectly with his storylines, conveying otherwise complex and obscure emotions.

What literally makes losing someone I idolized and obsessed over worse was reading his goodbye message on his blog. A translated version popped up shortly after. I now know why his death hit me as a surprise, he had hidden it. And he knew he was going to die. Do you know how painful that was for him, you will after you read that translated version.

I cried.
For like, a half an hour. I could cry now. I might when I lay to go to sleep.

Why do the good die so young?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Life really bites sometimes, but it seems he went out the way he wanted. 😦

  2. Yeah he did, as I was reading that I just sat there thinking about how cool of a guy he was, the kind of guy you felt like you knew from his movies and stuff.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

